Resources

There are many resources available that address military transition, retirement, development of new personal and professional goals and other life skills. While some of these publications and workshops are designed specifically for military leaders planning a transition, other resources designed for corporate executives or retiring federal agency leaders may also contain information equally relevant to transitioning military leaders.

Don’t forget that your former military colleagues also are a good resource for information as well as a potential source of job leads. They can share some of the lessons learned during their own transitions and provide advice about pitfalls that can be avoided. Professional communities and conversations through online resources such as LinkedIn also provide an opportunity to hear what other veterans think and have experienced as they reentered civilian life.

Executive coaches specializing in work with senior military leaders can be an additional resource to consider, providing a sounding board and helping you to identify your personal and professional goals and a roadmap forward.

Articles

Transitioning Our Veterans To Ensure Civilian Success

View page »

Helpful Books

Military Transition to Civilian Success Mary Hay, Lani Rorrer, James Rivera, Ron Krannich and Caryl Krannich Impact Publications, www.impactpublications.com   The Encore Career Handbook Marci Alboher Workman Publishing, www.encorecareerhandbook.com   What Got You Here Won’t Get You There Marshall Goldsmith Hyperion Books, www.WhatGotYouHere.com   Camouflage to Pinstripes Sydney M. Savion Brown Books Publishing Group, www.CamouflageToPinstripes.com …

View page »

Social Media / Online Career Tools

LinkedIn www.linkedin.com Twitter www.twitter.com The Ladders www.theladders.com Careerealism www.careerealism.com Military Connection www.militaryconnection.com Simply Hired www.simplyhired.com Career Enlightenment www.careerenlightenment.com  

View page »

Additional Resources of Interest

Military Officers Association of America: www.moaa.org The American Legion: www.legion.org Disabled American Veterans: www.dav.org Military Family Network: www.emilitary.org The Armed Forces Communications and Electronics Association (AFCEA): www.afcea.org Corporate Gray: www.corporategray.com The Military Spouse Employment Partnership: www.msepjobs.com Milicruit: www.veteranscareerfair.com National Veterans Transition Services: www.nvtsi.org Homeward Deployed: www.HomewardDeployed.org Veteran Franchising (International Franchising Association): www.vetfran.org ExFederal: www.exfederal.com Association …

View page »

Share Your Transition Story

Are you a retired senior military leader, former military spouse, or an employer who has hired former military leaders? In 300 words or less, share your transition story with our blog audience. What worked well? Which pitfalls can be avoided? What advice would you like to share with those preparing for transition from military to …

View page »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>